Tags

, , , , ,

I was really glad I made it out to last Saturday’s miniature version of a strassenfest (street festival), Brückenwall, taking up the few blocks at the intersection of Brückenstrasse and Wallstrasse in Sachsenhausen. It’s a small neighborhood only a few hundred meters away from Alt Sachsenhausen, but thankfully vastly different in culture. There are a few of the old-style Appelwein restaurants, yes, but filled with Germans, not tourists; and then there is a small but impressive group of little art galleries, design shops, concept stores, second-hand shops and cool cafes that make the area like a mini Brooklyn, or a mini Berlin for a more local reference.

It struck me as I was there, weaving in between the people drinking appelwein and beer, dancing in the “Kopfhörer disco” (silent/headphone disco), and taking a look at the crafts, jewelry, and foods on display, that people who complain about Frankfurt having no diversity or no interesting people probably just haven’t looked very far.

“A gift is another way of saying giving something that you’d rather keep for yourself.”
Card from Colekt

One of my favorite shops which I’ll remember to visit again in the future, particularly if I ever need a clever and stylish gift, was Colekt concept store which had everything from porcelain to jewelry to stationery, as well as a charming little cafe with homemade tarts and cakes. They are located at Brückenstrasse 21, and are open from Tuesday to Saturday. Visit them online at colekt.me

I picked up some letterpressed “Danke!” cards with a blind-printed diamond design, because a girl can never have too many thank-you notes on hand.

